Who we are

The Gavel was founded in 2009 as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation. Though an unusual name for a student publication, it was named for the gavel Tip O’Neill ‘36 used as Speaker of the House.

In the words of former President Bill Clinton:

“Rep. O’Neill loved politics and government because he saw politics and government could make a difference in people's lives. And he loved people most of all."

Speaker O’Neill was a champion of progressive issues and his gavel serves as a symbol and a beacon for those BC students concerned with making the world a better place. Since its creation, The Gavel has transformed from a small-staffed newspaper to a magazine, and most recently, a full-service online media platform. While we are wholly independent from the University, we are one of the largest student groups in the Boston College community, with 100-plus students involved -- including our editorial board, contributors, staffers, business managers, graphic designers, and more. We publish several online-exclusive pieces per day, covering local news, progressive issues, BC athletics, college arts, the campus atmosphere and more. Bang. (Onomatopeia for a gavel, of course.)


The Gavel welcomes readers’ comments and suggestions or complaints about errors that should be corrected. Messages on news coverage can be e-mailed to bcgavel@gmail.com and our editorial staff will take all issues seriously. The managerial board will take action if editorial content defames or wrongly represents a party or is potentially harmful to faculty, staff, administrators, student organizations or any other members of the Boston College community.

St Ignatius

Tip O'Neill, BC alumnus and former Speaker of the House.

The Gavel Editorial Board 2019

Copy Team

Josie Morales-Thomason '21, Head Copy Editor

Ben Rufo '21

Maria Lozada '21

Sydnie Jiang '22

Caitlyn Neville '22

Hannah Ruane '22

Julia Steponaitis '22

Morgan Jemtrud '22

Vidisha Pandey '23

Minji Jeun '24

Business Team

Greta Gareth '22, General Manager

Michelle Catano '23, Business Development Coordinator

Anna Pyo '23, Business Development Coordinator

Olivia Pullin '24, Business Development Coordinator

Print Team

Ngan Tran '22, Head Print Editor

Maia Rosenbaum '23, Print Associate

Caitlyn Yee '23, Print Associate

Anna Metri '23